Punjab to put ‘smart lockdown’ in 7 cities with COVID-19 hotspots

Lahore – The Punjab government has decided to impose lockdowns in areas with potential coronavirus hotspots in seven cities in the province to control the increase in coronovirus cases.

According to media reports, the National Command and Operations Center (NCOC) on Tuesday issued instructions regarding the lockout in 20 cities of the country, including seven in Punjab.

The cities of Punjab included Lahore, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad, Multan, Gujranwala, Sialkot and Gujarat.

Punjab Chief Secretary Jawad Rafiq Malik issued orders regarding the implementation of the NCOC directives.

In Lahore, the lockout has started from midnight on Tuesday, while in other cities tonight is starting from 12 Wednesday.

Army rangers would be placed on standby, while police would be stationed at entry and exit locations of areas that would be placed under restriction.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *