India selected as non-permanent member in UNSC

Photo: AFP

India on Wednesday was elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2021 and 2022 along with Mexico and Norway.

Djibouti and Kenya – which both failed to get the required two-thirds of the vote to win – will go for a second round of voting on Thursday.

Despite a lengthy and star-studded campaign by Ireland and Norway, Canada was once again beaten for the Western seat, resulting in a setback for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

In the Asia-Pacific region, India – which has failed to win a permanent seat in an expanded Security Council – ran unopposed to win 184 votes out of the 192 countries participating in the election.

The result means that India will now have a seat at the same table as China, just days after the two countries disputed their Himalayan border, trading blame for a dispute that killed at least 20 Indian soldiers. Given.

Mexico, which also ran unopposed, earned 187 votes.

African countries had chosen their candidate in the past, but this time were unable to forward a single country. Kenya received 113 votes against Djibouti, which received 78.

Kenya claims to enjoy the support of the African Union, but Djibouti says it must have been a seat due to Nairobi’s previous involvement in the Security Council and the principle of rotation.

Both French-speaking Djibouti and English-speaking Kenya are highlighting their roles in the search for peace on the Horn of Africa, as well as their contribution to the UN’s peace options.

Kenya has welcomed its support to refugees from Somalia and South Sudan, as well as the fragile governments of both countries.

Djibouti, in turn, notes its strategic location and unusual role as a strategic base for its contribution to various countries – France, the United States, China and Japan, as well as Somalia.

For Europe and Western seats, competition was more customary.

Canada – already stymied by a defeat in 2010 during its final bid for the Security Council, when the General Assembly chose Portugal instead – dominated Norway, with 130 votes, and Ireland, which had 128, to win. A minimum number was required. .

Trudeau had invested heavily in the latest Security Council efforts, the defeat potentially causing him political embarrassment at home.

“As we move forward, we are committed to the goals and principles that we set during this campaign,” Trudeau said in a statement, noting that Canada “will advance global cooperation and build more peaceful Will continue to play a significant role, “inclusive and sustainable world. “

Celine Dion vs Bono

Hoping to woo delegates, both Canada and Ireland had wiped out Star Power: Celine Dion sang in New York City to promote Canada to the United Nations, while U2 performed a musical in the Big Apple for Ireland Did the program.

“The campaign for the UNSC seat includes endless lobbying, entertainment and concern that the ambassador who promised you just one vote,” tweeted Richard Govan, an expert on the world body of the International Crisis Group.

Fearing fraud or manipulation, the General Assembly did not vote electronically, even though the United Nations was mostly working until the end of July, mostly due to the coronovirus epidemic.

Instead, each of the 193 delegates had a chance to hold a secret ballot at a designated time scattered throughout the day in the famous assembly hall. Each new Security Council member is required to win two-thirds of the votes cast.

The Security Council has 10 non-permanent members in addition to the veto-feeling big five – Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

The General Assembly on Wednesday elected Turkish diplomat Volkan Bozkir as its president for the 2020-21 session.

Bozkir was the only candidate, but Armenia, Cyprus and Greece – all of which have historically strained relations with Turkey – opposed him, meaning he could not be elected by consensus and nations had to vote. .

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *